One of the advantages of working in the book division of a media company is that when I walk into the office bleary eyed, with dark circles and clutching my bottle of miracle Excedrin to my chest protectively, the fact that it’s not a hangover, but the result of staying up too late because I just had to ‘read one more chapter, just one more’ that turned into several more, garners empathy rather than disdain.

This got me thinking though, in the shower, about the terms we use for things like that. It’s not a hangover, not in the traditional sense, certainly. Is there a proper term for this result? I’m too tired to come up with anything really creative or coherent, and the two awake brain cells I have are working overtime on grammar and punctuation. (Give them a break, okay?) It’s not their fault I did this to myself. As Radiohead sang, “You do this to yourself, you do, and that’s why it really hurts.”

So how many of you are guilty of staying up too late to read, and finding yourself with the equivalent of a hangover the next day? Any remedies?

Oh, and the book that’s got me hooked? The Serpent’s Tale, by Ariana Franklin. I’m not done yet, so no spoilers, okay? But I’m really looking forward to finishing it.

So what are you reading?

1 Response to “”


  1. 1 beckylevine February 28, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    I’m pretty sure the only remedy is the equivalent of curing the other kind of hangover–just more reading!


Leave a Reply

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Twitter Updates


