Employee of the Year for 2009

I know it might seem a little early to announce this distinction since it’s only the first workday of 2009 and barely anyone is here. But alas, I think the competition is already won.

This employee will go out of his/her way day in and day out to meet the specific needs of each of his/her coworkers, providing an energizing force to countless projects and meetings. This worker’s innovative presence will invigorate the office, and the company doesn’t even have to pay him/her a salary. He/she will also eliminate the need for costly and time consuming Starbucks runs. As a result of his/her diligence and personalized attention our staff will remain enlivened even during the bleakest of winter mornings and the laziest of summer afternoons. One day soon we will all sigh and wonder how we ever got anything done before he/she was here.

So without further ado, I’d like to introduce to you our new coffee maker:

Thanks, Jane!

Thanks, Jane!

Additionally, I am of the opinion that any trusted and loved employee/appliance deserves a name. Anyone have any ideas?

4 Responses to “Employee of the Year for 2009”


  1. 1 gracering January 2, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    I vote for Mo, which is short for Tassimo. I just want to be able to say that Mo is making me a cup of joe.

  2. 2 The Writer Mama January 5, 2009 at 4:09 am

    Mo is good. I was going to vote for Squirty.

  3. 3 claudean75 January 5, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    This is a wonderful gesture. Thanks Jane.

  4. 4 laurenmosko January 7, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    Oh NOW the team gets its own coffeemaker. I’m so jealous. That’s awesome! Who needs sleep when you can just have another cup of Joe from Mo and then keep reading/designing? (Perfect name, Grace. And good thinking, Jane.) On that note, I’m going to get a cup of not-as-fun coffee I had to schlep to work from my not-as-sophisticated coffeemaker at home. (I like to call him Buford.) Cheers!


Leave a Reply

