Sign of the (changing) Times

I’m not ready to break out the carols yet, but it’s definitely starting to look a lot like that time of year. Sunday we woke up to snow flurries, which continued most of yesterday. Today is sunny, but there’s just the tiniest little bit of white stuff on the ground along the edges of the road. Pumpkin spice is getting replaced by peppermint and gingerbread, and the election signs have disappeared, replaced by a new sense of optimism and excitement for the next four years.

Because I’ve never been one to follow the normal order of things, I’ve found that despite the cold weather, I’ve been eager to go outside and walk a few laps around the building with some of my coworkers. The other day someone compared us to Charlie’s Angels, and I think about that now every time I bundle up to head out. I told them I wasn’t going today, but I think I might change my mind. Every time I’ve gone out for a fifteen minute walk, I’ve come back more focused and ready to work. It seems that getting away from the computer for a few minutes only makes me more dedicated to it when I get back in, probably because the computer doesn’t make my fingers and nose feel frozen.

It’s only been a week, but the results of these walks, two a day for fifteen minutes each, are already starting to show in a looser waistline on my jeans. With Thanksgiving less than two weeks away, I’m going to need to combat those extra calories somehow, and maybe I can drag the family out after dinner, if they can fend off the drowsy effects of the turkey (not something I need to worry about myself, since I don’t eat meat). Actually, we’re doing our Thanksgiving celebration here at work this week, so we’ll definitely be needing to walk after that.

Besides, Farrah Fawcett (or Lucy Liu, if we’re going for the newer version) wouldn’t let a little cold air keep her from fighting evil, and she’d probably even do it in some really great shoes. So after I consult Alice’s Material Girl blog for some fantastic winter fashion, I think I’ll head out for a couple laps with the other angels. Granted, the worst crime we’ll probably encounter around here might be comma abuse, but watch out, creepy punctuation criminals! Here we come!

This year I’ll even try to be grateful for the cold weather and remember to stop whining about how cold my toes get. There’s a lot to love about the cold, and this year I intend to embrace it: snowflakes, sweaters and hoodies, winter fashion, knee socks, cozy blankets, and, of course, a good book or ten. Maybe winter will become my favorite season after all.

0 Responses to “Sign of the (changing) Times”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

