Why Working for a “Media” Company Rocks

As October rattles its chains of farewell to another year (and still no Great Pumpkin in sight!), I find myself facing a very, very, very, very, very, very busy November. This should not be confused with the very, very, very, very, very, very busy October I’ve nearly completed–or the very, very, very, very, very, very busy April I pushed through earlier this year. No, it’s a completely new very, very, very, very, very, very busy month; and it’s all my fault, which is why I love working for a media company. Confused?

Well, one of my new projects for November is to write a prompt and poem each day over at my Poetic Asides blog. I’m calling it the November PAD Challenge, and it’s meant to give poets something to do as their NaNoWriMo friends write first drafts of novels. The November PAD Challenge promises to be a lot of work, but also a lot of fun, and I’d only be in a position to do it and still call it work if I were working for a media company.

Another of my recent projects was to get a community area added on to WritersMarket.com. Once I saw that our Interactive Media team were looking at community as an option, I signed up my site to be a guinea pig the very first day. And though it took a while to become reality, the community is now up and running–and receiving raves from users so far. The best part for me is that I now have a more direct way to talk to my readers, and they are able to talk to each other (after more than 85 years of isolation). This would only be possible at a media company.

From e-mail newsletters to CD versions of the Market Books (coming soon!), having the ability to realize my vision and be an advocate for my audience is often just a matter of persistence, patience and constant communication. While I know not every idea will get approved immediately, I feel like I’ve always got a voice and that people are listening. And there are few things more rewarding than that.

0 Responses to “Why Working for a “Media” Company Rocks”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Twitter Updates


