Anticipation

In a couple weeks, our production department is hosting a Halloween party here in the office. To get everyone excited for it, they’ve asked us all to bring in photos of ourselves from Halloweens past. This prompted me to dig out this…

When I was a kid, my mom made all of our Halloween costumes. I can still remember how excited we’d be to go to the fabric store and pick out patterns, well before October arrived. We’d beg to wear the costumes as soon as they were finished, and we were so proud to show them off come Halloween. I could have cared less about the candy.

It was different for the other kids we knew. The boy next door was Yoda EVERY YEAR. He had one of those costumes that you used to get in a box at the Kmart… the kind with the cheap plastic mask and matching frock. We had another neighbor who dressed as a hobo several years in a row. He’d just put on one of his dad’s flannel shirts, stuff a pillow under it, and then paint a little stubble on his face.

I’m sure these kids had just as much fun as we did trick-or-treating, but it definitely wasn’t as much of an event for them. The homemade costumes and the long process of making them made it different for us. We anticipated Halloween for half the year, and once it arrived we’d immediately start thinking about the next one.

I’m the same way with the books I work on now. Even after four years here, I still run downstairs immediately whenever I find out that advances are in. I can’t wait to see and touch and smell the finished product, and then show it to everyone I know. Since we never know exactly what day advances are coming, I’m always anticipating them.

Right now I’m anxiously awaiting the arrival of An Illustrated Life by Danny Gregory. I spent the better part of the summer toiling over that book, and I couldn’t wait to get rid of it. Laying out each spread and fitting in all the images was like putting together a difficult jigsaw puzzle. I’d come in each morning excited to work on it, and leave at night feeling like my head was going to explode. But now I’m just itching to get my hands on the finished book, to show it off like a proud parent and be inspired by the art all over again.

2 Responses to “Anticipation”


  1. 1 alicepope October 13, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    Um I was a hobo every year (except for when I was five and I dressed up as a mom). I wore my dad’s sweatshirt and gym shoes, rubbed my face with charcoal, carried a big plastic cigar and collected my candy in a pillow case. I still suck at coming up with costumes.

  2. 2 telecommutingtruths October 15, 2008 at 11:57 pm

    Another Rainbow Brite fan, I see. Excellent taste, my friend.

    My mom made my costumes as well. My favorite was the indian princess complete with Baby Alive/papoose strapped to my back.


Leave a Reply

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Twitter Updates


